The Wisconsin Academic Advising Awards are intended to recognize individuals who work with, for, and in favor of students in an academic advising capacity, and those who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the profession of academic advising. These awards are available to all individuals in any institution of higher education in the State of Wisconsin.

Congratulations to the 2016 WACADA Award Winners!

 Award Winners 2016

Advising Excellence Award – Laura Polum, UW-Stevens Point
Advising Excellence Award – Mike Exum, UW-Extension
Faculty Advisor Excellence Award – Dr. Quin Chrobak, UW-Oshkosh
Foundation Award – Alex Ferge, UW-Eau Claire
Outstanding Achievement in Advising Award – Cindy Fruhwirth, UW-Oshkosh
Advising Profession Impact Award – Kelsey Kopp, UW-Eau Claire
Peer Advising Award – Haley Rohe, UW-Oshkosh

2015 Award Winners:

2014 Award Winners:

2013 Award Winners:


The Process:

For all awards, except the Peer Advisor and Graduate Student Scholarship, the nominator needs only to complete the “Nomination Form,” and send to the Awards Chair (Past president of WACADA). For Peer Advisor and Grad Student Scholarship details, see below.

The Chair, along with the Awards Committee, will contact each nominee and request information (a resume, an academic advising philosophy statement and a history of professional development). The Awards Committee will review all the information and make the selections prior to the annual WACADA conference. Awards will be presented at the WACADA conference on September 14-15, 2017 at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

Awards Deadline: June 5, 2017

Award Categories: (see descriptions below)

Faculty/Staff Categories:

Student Categories:

» Download Nomination Form

Nominations are due June 5th and will be announced at the annual WACADA conference.  For more information, please contact Janay Alston at